To toss or not to toss

The more and more I think of it, the more our wedding is turning out to be non-traditional. I say this because I am toying with the thought of throwing out yet another tradition. Yep. I said it.

I am thinking of not doing a bouquet or garter toss.  There are a couple of reasons for this. One is that I am easily embarrassed. I can just see my face being beet red. In a white dress. Yeah, not a pretty thought. However, I would take it if I thought it would actually be fun, but I think it might actually border on uncomfortable. I don’t think all that many single people are invited to our wedding. There are a few. Probably more single men than women. Even though our wedding is fast approaching for me because I am planning and organizing it, it is actually still a long time away. Another couple could actually get married between now and then dwindling the single number even more! You might laugh, but its happened already with several couples. Haha

Fear not…I stumbled on a board post on Weddingbee.com that gave me a great idea. Check this out:

“They asked all couples to get on the dancefloor and had the DJ excuse people from the dancefloor if they had been married less than 5 hours, less than 1 year, less than 5 years, and on and on until the last couple was dancing. The last couple (her grandparents) dancing were given the garter and bouquet. That way you’re honoring marriage as a whole, rather than single-ing out the singles there.”

Source

I think that would be pretty cool. Although, I am pretty sure we can assume that Omar’s grandparents would be the winners. Haha They just celebrated their 50 years. However, if my grandfather was still with us, then MY grandparents would be the winners. 😉 Oh well, it would have been fun to see both sets of grandparents duke it out. Haha

So, I don’t know. What do you guys think? Should we do the traditional bouquet/garter toss even if there is not that many participants or should we try this new way that honors the rite of marriage?

3 responses to “To toss or not to toss

  1. I LIKE THE IDEA OF GIVING IT TO THE MARRIED C OUPLE THAT IS CUTE PLUS WHY PUT US STILL SINGLE PEOPLE OUT THERE LIKE THAT. LOL WE KNOW WE ARE SINGLE. LOL

    • See, that is exactly why I think it would border on uncomfortable! Especially for the ladies! Thanks Jen for your input. I didn’t know if it sounded silly or what. Love ya girl.

  2. I like the non traditional idea. haha Jenny.

Leave a Reply

