What does being a budget bride mean to you?

I think of myself as a budget bride even though we will probably end up spending 10k or possibly over when it is all said and done. We are trying to put a little money away for the bigger things and I am coming up with all these do-it-yourself projects that will add detail to the day but not cost us a fortune. You see, my lovely fiancee whom I love tons thinks that we are done. The venue is booked, we have had offers for the rehearsal dinner and my hair and makeup so in his mind all we need is rings, dress & photography. Yes, that is true. Those are the big things. However, what about bridal party gifts (hello!), parent gifts, favors, ringbearer pillow, flowergirl baskets, cake knife set….all the little things that in the end will add to our costs. He does not understand why I am at Hobby Lobby or Michaels every weekend and sometimes every other day. You want to know the reason why I visit so frequently? I pay attention to the ads. I think there is very little that I have bought that I have not gotten on sale or with a 40% off coupon. I’ve even used my coupon on something that cost $3 just so it wouldn’t go to waste. I HATE wasting a good coupon.

It’s pretty difficult to stick to the necessities when you check out the wedding blog sites every day at least 5 times a day. I know, I’ve become obsessed. It’s not so much what to do for my wedding because there are a lot of things I won’t go as far to do. I am not taking boudoir pictures like this bride did. Or I’m not having a wedding photobooth like so many brides are doing as well. Not saying those are not great fun ideas, because they are. However, I just want people to have a good time and really get the message of how much we love each other and how much it means for everyone to be sharing it with us. To me, its not all about the “bling”. Don’t get my wrong though, I am not saying details don’t matter to me. They do….enter DIY projects.

I also think that Omar and I saved a lot of money by choosing a venue that is providing a lot of things that seem to give other people headaches such as flowers, DJ & linens. I still have to deal with the vendors, but at least I don’t have the endless hours of research as I have had with the photographer. Since the venue is one flat fee, I do think we made out pretty good when you start adding up the costs of things seperately. I have been watching Bridezillas and Platinum Weddings on WE on Sundays and OMG can people drop some money on a wedding! Ok, I do not need everyone drinking Don P for the champagne toast. Chances are I’ll be the only one actually drinking the champagne. Haha (And maybe bridesmaid J, but if so definitely no Don P 😉 Memories memories!)

What I think makes me a budget bride is trying to get what I want by:

1. “Investing” my time by assembling instead of paying someone else to do it for me.
2. Shopping around
3. Using my resources on the internet
4. Doing what I can myself (which coincides with #1)

I have not broken down the final costs of the save-the-dates yet, but I am sure for the finished product after ribbon, embellishments and assembly it would cost a lot more. Also, I don’t need letterpress. I do still like the look of the raised lettering, but thermography has proven to make just as giddy and is a lot more pocketbook friendly.

Bottom line, I think it is still possible to have the wedding you want while trying to keep the budget low. I THINK. Ask me in 9 1/2 months.

Were you able to get the wedding you wanted and still stay within a reasonable budget?

2 responses to “What does being a budget bride mean to you?

  1. well sweety you know i love a good champagne! lol but your rt there are some memories of drinking that stuff lol. love you!

  2. LOL It’s been a long time since we had a good memory-making event like that!

Leave a Reply

